Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards Nominations

Georgia Baptist College of Nursing Alumni are encouraged to nominate fellow alumni for awards. The College encourages alumni to recognize the efforts and achievements of graduates from Georgia Baptist School of Nursing and Georgia Baptist College of Nursing. Alumni award nominations must be received by June 1. Questions may be directed to Paul McClendon, Director of Development for Georgia Baptist College of Nursing, by email or phone, (678) 547-6453.

Distinguished Alumna/Alumnus Award

The Distinguished Alumna/Alumnus Award is presented annually to a graduate for outstanding achievement and distinction in the practice of nursing. It recognizes excellence in nursing practice, humanitarian contributions and support of the alma mater. Nominations can be made online.

Edna Earle Teal Award Recipient

The Edna Earle Teal award is named after Edna Teal, a former superintendent of nurses at Georgia Baptist School of Nursing. Teal was the first nurse-missionary to China in 1910. This award, given in her name, recognizes the graduate who is distinguished in service to God and humanity. Nominations can be made online.

Young Alumna/Alumnus Award

The Young Alumna/Alumnus Award, first awarded by the College in 2014, is given to an alumna or alumnus who has graduated within the last 10 years. That person has accomplished two or more of the following: (A) made outstanding contributions to the nursing profession; (B) achieved recognition by peers, patients and/or the profession in such a manner that brings honor to the College of Nursing and the University; (C) demonstrated service and commitment to the community; (D) fostered the mission, vision and values of the College of Nursing and the University; and (E) evidenced support of the Alumni Association of the College of Nursing through contributions of time and/or gifts. Nominations can be made online.

Hall of Honor

Induction into the Hall of Honor recognizes both alumni and friends (non-alumni) of the College for their accomplishments in one of the following areas: clinical nursing practice, community health service, excellence in mentoring, health care administration, leadership in health policy/ethics/law, nursing education, entrepreneurial leadership, excellence in student leadership development, excellence in volunteer leadership, leadership in clinical development and nursing research.*Note: Some years there are multiple inductees for one category and some years a category does not have a recipient. Having a range of categories allows us to honor many who have contributed to nursing, the College or their communities. Nominations can be made at Hall of Honor Nomination Form.

2019 Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumna

  • Karen Peterson Pugmire, ’90, Snellville

Edna Earle Teal Award

  • Nancy Love Cheshire Smith, ’69, Thomasville

2019 Hall of Honor Inductees

Excellence in Clinical Nursing Practice

  • Rebecca Shan Baker, ’95. ’02, Villa Rica
  • Amy Melton McEachin, ’90, Lawrenceville
  • Renice A. Washington, ’14, East Point

Excellence in Education

  • Tabatha Anderson, ’00, ’19, Clarksville
  • Rita Woosley Ferguson, ’14, Harvest, Alabama
  • Becky Murck, ’10, CummingJaime Williamson Barrera Young
  • Daphnee J. Stewart, ’93, Loganville

Excellence in Mentoring

  • Tammy D. Barbé, Chamblee

Excellence in Research

  • Kelly L. Rossler, ’13, Kaufman,Texas

Young Alumna

  • Jaime Williamson Barrera, ’11, Winder